National Commission for the
Certification of Crane Operators
Committed to Quality, Integrity, and Fairness in Testing since 1995


Organizational Structure

The National Commission for the Certification of Crane Operators (NCCCO) is structured to allow fair representation from all industries that use load handling equipment. This diversity is reflected at all three major levels of the organization including: the Board of Directors, Commissioners, and Committees.

Board of Directors

Board members serve three-year terms. Officers are re-elected annually. The Board establishes policy, sets strategic goals, and assumes fiscal responsibility for the organization.

PRESIDENT: Tim Watters, Hoffman Equipment

VICE PRESIDENT: Pete Laux, Kiewit Companies

SECRETARY/TREASURER: Stephanie Wood, Terex Cranes

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT: Kerry Hulse, Deep South Crane & Rigging (Ret)

CHAIRMAN, COMMISSIONERS: Ellis Vliet, Turner Industries (Ret)

William (Bill) Davis, Zurich Services Corp.

Mike Heacock, Morrow Equipment Co.

Douglas LaCroix, Cianbro Equipment, Pittsfield, Maine

Christopher Treml, International Union of Operating Engineers, Washington, DC


NCCCO has provision for 30 Commissioners, representing 10 broad industry groups. These groups make policy recommendations and oversee the activities of the main committees that report to the NCCCO Board of Directors and Commissioners. Commissioners are also entitled to nominate one Alternate. Current Commissioners and Alternates include:

Keith Adolf, IUOE Local 825

Tim Arkilander, Articulating Crane Council of N.A.

Jason Birdwell, The Crosby Group

Daniel Bishop, The Crosby Group

Bo Collier, Crane Tech

Ethan Collier, Crane Tech

Larry DeMark, ETS, LLC

Daniel Dickey, Cianbro Corp.

David Doherty, Cianbro Corp.

William (Hank) Dutton, Travelers Insurance

Dennis Eckstine, Eckstine & Associates, Inc.

Matthew Eckstine, Eckstine & Associates, Inc.

Michael Embry, IUOE Local 181 JATC

Bill Erwin, Erwin Crane

Markus Espen, Liebherr USA

Jason Fancher, Crane Inspection & Certification Bureau (CICB)

Jonathan Gann, Space X

Norman Gearhart, Clear Channel Outdoor

Thomas Gordon, IUOE Local 14

Lino Guerra, Phillips 66

Brian Haight, Washington State Dept. of Labor & Industries

Ed Hatcher, Articulating Crane Council of N.A.

Brian Hill, Manitowoc Crane Care

Jim Jacobs, IUOE Local 3

Don Jordan, American International Crane Bureau

David Judy, IUOE Local 18

Troy Krumm, Link-Belt Cranes

William LaFlamme, IUOE Local 4

Todd Liebelt, Operating Engineers Local 139

John O’Connor, CICB

Beth O’Quinn, Specialized Carriers & Rigging Association

Patrick Peterson, IUOE Local 15

Scott Richert, Travelers

David Ritchie, Dave Ritchie Consultant LLC

J. Chris Ryan

Ruben Olivas Saunders, Tadano America Corporation

Brandon Savage, Philips 66

Sidney Shreiner, Manitowoc Crane CARE

Fred Simmons, Foley Material Handling Co., Inc.

Travis Simmons, IUOE Local 673

Bill Sloniker, Washington State Dept. of L&I

Bill Smith, NationsBuilders Insurance Services

Chris Smith, Morrow Equipment Company

Jeffery Smith, ExxonMobil

James Strobush, Liebherr

Dan Sullivan, IUOE Local 542

Gary Via, TNT Crane & Rigging

Jorge Vial, Vial Equipment Sales & Service

Michael Vlaming, Vlaming & Associates, APC

Patrick Vallejos, Hanford Mission Integration Solutions (HMIS)

Ellis Vliet

Charles Wigger, Lamar Advertising

David Wright, Space X


NCCCO develops and maintains its certification programs through committees that report to the Board of Directors. A total of 12 Exam Management Committees are responsible for monitoring certification examinations for mobile (written exams and practical exams), tower, overhead, and articulating crane operators, digger derrick operators, dedicated pile driver operators, drill rig operators, crane inspectors, and lift directors, as well as signalpersons and riggers. Committee members suggest revisions to NCCCO’s testing procedures; work with and monitor the administration of the exams; oversee the work of item writers; monitor and oversee testing companies that may be contracted with for exam development and/or administration; and collect data necessary for psychometrically sound examinations.

Additional committees that play an important role in the review, discipline, and appeals processes include: the Ethics and Discipline Committee responsible for establishing standards of conduct—such as ethical standards, policies, and procedures for disciplinary action—and for implementing those standards, policies, and procedures; the Appeals Committee responsible for establishing policies and procedures for hearing appeals of decisions and for hearing such appeals; and the Practical Exam Audit Committee (PEAC) responsible for establishing and maintaining NCCCO’s rigorous audit program.