National Commission for the
Certification of Crane Operators
Committed to Quality, Integrity, and Fairness in Testing since 1995


Frequently Asked Questions


If I do not pass my exams, am I allowed to test again?

Initial candidates are allowed to take exams as many times as necessary for successful completion. Recertification candidates adhere to different guidelines (please see Recertification section).

How long is the waiting period before I can retest?

Candidates who do not pass a written exam and need to retake the same exam in order to certify or recertify, must wait four (4) weeks to retake the same exam, or take an alternate form of the exam.

Candidates who need to retake practical exams do not have a waiting period; they may simply work with a practical examiner to schedule at a time that is convenient.

What does “alternate form” of the exam mean?

An “alternate form” of an exam is a test that is equivalent to the initial test form in content and difficulty, but with different questions.

Why is there a waiting period?

It is important that each candidate be tested fairly. This policy prevents candidates who are retesting from having an unfair advantage on an exam because they are already familiar with the content. Requiring a waiting period after a failed exam is best practice in the certification industry and utilized by most certification bodies that offer professional accreditations.

Which exams have alternate forms?

NCCCO Exam Management Committees are working on creating alternate forms for all written exams. For information on current availability, please contact NCCCO Customer Service at 703-560-2391 ext. 204

If I need to retake an alternate form of an exam less than four (4) weeks after failing, how do I do so?

Alternate forms of exams will be available via computer-based testing (CBT) only. Candidates who are unfamiliar with the CBT process should review the policies before completing an online application. NCCCO staff will determine if the candidate is required to take an alternate form and process the application accordingly; no notation is required by the candidate.

I failed my Mobile Crane Operator Specialty exam. May I retest sooner than four (4) weeks?

While not an “alternate form,” candidates who must retake a Mobile Crane Operator Specialty exam already have the option of taking the exam using a different load chart. For instance, a candidate who failed a Lattice Boom Truck (LBT) exam using the Link-Belt load chart may either wait four (4) weeks to retake the same exam or, without a waiting period, take the LBT exam using the Manitowoc load chart. This is true of all Mobile Crane Operator Specialty exams.

I failed my recertification exam and my certification expires before I’m permitted to retest; can I get an extension?

Certificants who fail a recertification exam and whose expiration date does not permit them to wait four (4) weeks to retest will be required to apply for full-length (initial) exams. Extensions cannot be granted on recertification. Retaking the full-length exam can be done at any paper/pencil or CBT test administration since it does not require an alternate form. Certificants are reminded that they may start the recertification process up to 12 months prior to their expiration date without “losing time” on their certification.

Next FAQ topic: Certification Cards

Back to FAQ menu