National Commission for the
Certification of Crane Operators
Committed to Quality, Integrity, and Fairness in Testing since 1995


Lift Director


The following information applies specifically to the CCO Lift Director certifications.

CCO certification is valid for five years. Recertification candidates must complete all recertification requirements during the 12 months prior to their certification’s expiration date. There is no grace period after their certification expires. Candidates whose certification has lapsed must take the same examinations as required for initial certification to be certified again.

Recertification requirements include:

  • Passing the applicable Lift Director Written Examination(s)
    • Lift Director—Mobile Crane Exam and Mobile Crane Operator Core Exam
    • Lift Director—Tower Crane Exam and Tower Crane Operator Exam
  • Compliance with NCCCO’s Substance Abuse Policy
  • Compliance with the Code of Ethics

The written exams required for recertification are identical to the exams required for initial certification.

Lift Director Recertification Requirements
If you are seeking recertification for:
Take the corresponding written exams:
Recertification received
Lift Director Exams
Operator Exams*
Lift Director—Mobile Cranes (MLD)
Lift Director—Mobile Crane
Mobile Crane Operator Core*
Lift Director—Tower Cranes (TLD)
Lift Director—Tower Crane
Tower Crane Operator*
*Currently CCO-certified mobile crane operators are not required to retake the Mobile Crane Operator Core Exam. Likewise, currently CCO-certified tower crane operators are not required to retake the Tower Crane Operator Exam for recertification. Lift Director cardholders are not required to retake the Rigger Level II exam for recertification.

Currently CCO-certified operators (TLL, TSS, LBC, LBT, or TWR) are not required to take the corresponding operator written exam(s) as long as they maintain their certification status in good standing. Lift Director recertification candidates who are not currently CCO-certified in the corresponding operator category(ies) are required to take and pass the corresponding operator written exam(s) at recertification.

To add an additional Lift Director specialty, complete the Candidate Application used for initial exams. See the table on the Certification Overview page for which operator exams are required to add a Lift Director specialty (e.g., if adding Lift Director Mobile Crane specialty to Lift Director Tower Crane certification, candidates must take and pass the Mobile Crane Operator Core Exam and two Specialty Exams, TLL or TSS and LBC or LBT). The Rigger Level II written exam is not required for either recertification or adding a Lift Director specialty.

Recertification candidates may take their written examinations up to one year prior to their certification’s date of expiration. Regardless of the date of the written examination(s) within that one-year period, the new five-year certification period begins from the date of expiration of the candidate’s initial certification.

Candidates whose certification has lapsed must take all of the required examinations for initial certification again to be certified again.

Get complete instructions on How to Recertify