Subscribe to our e-newsletter mailing list to keep up with NCCCO news and industry headlines.

State Certification Requirements

In 2007, three more states joined 12 others in requiring crane operators to be certified: Nevada, Minnesota, and Utah.

Here you will find information on regulations in those three states. The certification program offered by the National Commission for the Certification of Crane Operators meets the requirements for all of the states listed below.

State Certification Required By
Nevada January 1, 2007
Utah July 1, 2007
Minnesota July 1, 2007

The requirement for crane operator certification in Nevada took effect on January 1, 2007. The regulation affects operators of tower cranes and those mobile cranes with a maximum machine rated capacity of 15,000 lb. or greater or a usable boom length of 25 ft. or greater. You can visit the home page of the Nevada Division of Industrial Relations or go directly to the adopted regulation. The Nevada law can be viewed here.

In Utah, certification of crane operators was required as of July 1, 2007. The new law states that operators must be certified by the National Commission for the Certification of Crane Operators or an equivalent certifying organization that meets ASME B30.5 standards and the accreditation requirements of the National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA) or an equivalent organization as determined by the division. Review the legislation on the Utah State Legislature website.

An overview of the Minnesota law that also took effect on July 1, 2007, can be found on the MN Department of Labor & Industry website. The regulation states that any operator on a construction site operating a crane with a capacity of five (5) tons or more must be certified. The certification must come from a nationally recognized and accredited program. To read more on the statute, rule, requirements, and exemptions visit the License Minnesota website.

Here are some other links that may be of interest to those seeking certification:

  • State Licensing Requirements: Find out the difference between licensing and certification as well as a list of cities and states that require licensing.
  • NCCCO Handbooks: In the NCCCO Candidate Handbooks you will find information on the certification programs, exam outlines, a list of reference materials, and other valuable information.
  • Test Dates and Locations: Instructions for how to locate upcoming exam administrations listed on the NCCCO website.
  • Training Providers: NCCCO's Training Provider Directory lists organizations that indicate they offer preparatory training for CCO certification exams.
  • Permanent Practical Exam Sites: This is a list of organizations that have a site set up to administer CCO exams on a regular basis. This list is supplemented by many employers and organizations that have established NCCCO Practical Exam Sites to test on an as-needed basis. You can also contact your Written Test Site Coordinator regarding Practical Exam availability.
  • Holding Written and Practical Exams at Your Site: If your organization would like to get operators certified at your facility, please see the criteria for hosting Written and Practical Exams. You can also download the Test Site Coordinator Handbooks that detail all the requirements for hosting CCO exams.
  • Practical Examiner Program: If you are interested in becoming accredited to administer CCO Practical Exams, you will find the criteria and requirements here.

If you have any questions, please contact NCCCO.